Mount Rushmore

We went to Mt. Rushmore today. Of course we come to South Dakota and we bring the heat! The weather last night said this was the 1st heat wave of the summer and it was expected to get to 95 today, which is a heck of a lot better than 100 or more but still hot! Even with the heat though, we enjoyed ourselves and spent a few hours there. We took tons of photos, I think Les had over 250 photos so I won’t post them all but I will show a few. More will be on facebook but probably not until we get home.

It was exciting to see everything in person. Sure we had seen Mt. Rushmore on TV and movies but there is nothing like seeing it in person. It’s just amazing to think about the work that went into constructing the monument and the fact that is was constructed from 1927 to 1941! It was very dangerous work.

007 by you.

There is a crevice in the rocks you can go into and take a picture. I loved the effect.

020 by you.

Some of the pictures Les took look like we were right up by the monument. I think Roosevelt is my favorite of the carvings.

203 by you.

We came back later for the night show. It was nice and I’m glad we went but I enjoyed the day trip much more. Lighting up the monument at night was very beautiful though.

012 by you.

About Karen @ Crafty Commons

I'm a Spanish teacher and a wanna be librarian living in Kansas. I am married, have one daughter, a son-in-law, and 2 wonderful granddaughters. I am addicted to knitting! If I could knit all day, I would be in heaven. Unfortunately that’s not going to happen so I am now impatiently waiting for a school library position to open up in our area so I can have the best of both worlds, work in a profession I love and would be great in and knit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.