Prairie Dogs, Deadwood, & Free Roaming Cattle

There are prairie dogs here that are the size of small raccoons. They are huge and apparently well fed! The tourists stop to take pictures of them, which I can understand. I, on the other hand, think they are one of the most annoying creatures around. I’m not sure what they are good for except hunting practice.

We went to Deadwood on Thursday. We had planned to stay until the Jack McCall trial reenactment at 8:00 pm but there really wasn’t a whole lot to do there, except gamble. We did visit the Adams House museum, Wild Bill Hickok’s gravesite, saw where he was shot, spend $40.00 in a slot machine, and walked around town some. There really wasn’t enough to do to justify staying all day except gamble and we didn’t feel like doing that.

On the way back we drove through Keystone and stopped to eat and shop. We ate at the Ruby House Restaurant. It was very good and if you happen to go to Keystone, SD I would recommend it. It is a little pricey though but worth it. We drove back on the Old Hill City road which the 1880 train winds around. It was a very curvy and slow driving road but with great scenery. Just a few miles out of Hill City we came up on some cows roaming down the road. There were about 10 head and they were all young, maybe a year or two. A little farther down we came up on several more head grazing in an open, unfenced area. I assume they got out of somewhere but who knows, maybe someone still believes in free range cattle! LOL

It was a good day in all. We relaxed in our room and watch a little TV, something we really haven’t done since we got here.

About Karen @ Crafty Commons

I'm a Spanish teacher and a wanna be librarian living in Kansas. I am married, have one daughter, a son-in-law, and 2 wonderful granddaughters. I am addicted to knitting! If I could knit all day, I would be in heaven. Unfortunately that’s not going to happen so I am now impatiently waiting for a school library position to open up in our area so I can have the best of both worlds, work in a profession I love and would be great in and knit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.