Back again

I’m back again after a very long hiatus. Things have been so busy that I haven’t had time to breathe let alone write. Still teaching Spanish, no library job yet, but I’m still looking. It’s hard when you have a very limited area to search, especially when it’s a rural area! I have tons of students this year, at least for me. I’ve picked up one new school as well. So far all the kids are great but I need to get more organized.

I haven’t been knitting much. Well, actually I should say I have finished much. I have a neck scarf I’m working on, a bag I need to finish, a shawl I want to start, mittens to finish and who knows what else in down in my craft room!

I’ve also taken up cake decorating again. Now that I have my grand-daughter, I have a great excuse to make cakes for birthdays. I’m tackling a Dora the Explorer cake for her 2nd birthday. It’s not too hard but uses fondant, which I haven’t worked with before. Hopefully it will turn out great!

I’ve joined the 2010 Birthday Swap on Ravelry and am getting some great stuff for my partner. I hope she likes it. I thought about buying a pattern with the needed yarn but decided that might not be a good idea. What if she didn’t like the yarn? So I’m buying her some patterns and some yarn she likes. Plus I’ve picked up a few little goodies for here. I need to go to the Kansas store to buy her some made in KS items. Maybe I’ll do that tomorrow. Take daughter & G-daughter with me and we can stop off for a picnic.

My goal is to continue this blog so I can have a place to post what’s happening in my life. No one will probably read it, but it’s good therapy, right?!?

About Karen @ Crafty Commons

I'm a Spanish teacher and a wanna be librarian living in Kansas. I am married, have one daughter, a son-in-law, and 2 wonderful granddaughters. I am addicted to knitting! If I could knit all day, I would be in heaven. Unfortunately that’s not going to happen so I am now impatiently waiting for a school library position to open up in our area so I can have the best of both worlds, work in a profession I love and would be great in and knit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.