Wow, that long??

Ok, it has been way too long since I posted! I’m sure you all missed me and by you all I of course mean me, myself and I. I gotta get back on to this thing. Emily is getting big! She’s 8 months old and has her first tooth. Hubby and I get to see her a lot, which is fun. She loves Grandma and Grandpa.

I’ve been knitting lots. I made a dress for Emily, which was unfortunately washed (which was ok) and dried (not ok) and shrunk. I’ll make sure that everything else I make is wash and dry-able. I made her a bunny blanket which turned out wonderful, I’ve gotten so many comments on it. I have a sweater to make her for the fall/winter,I just haven’t started it. I decided that July was going to be my “finish as many WIPs” month. Not sure I’ll get too many finished but I have resisting the STRONG urge to start anything new. I have a bag I’m about finished with. It’s a mystery pattern by SheKnits and has been a great learning experience! I’ve used three colors together, made pockets, and will be makingcable/icord straps and then will felt it! Can’t wait until it’s finished and I hope I don’t screw it up. I have four other WIPs on my Ravelry project page and I hope to finish at least three of them. I’ll finish the SheKnits bag, the Honey Bee Stitch cloth (which feels like cheating because it’s just a dishcloth), and the Summer Drop. The Summer Drop is a shawl which I want to finish before August to take on our vacation to South Dakota. The weather gets much cooler in the evenings there so I thought it would be nice to have. I’ll take the mittens and the other bag with me plus a couple of other projects. It is an eight hour drive one way, plus I’ll need something to keep me busy at night (don’t let Hubby see that comment! :0).

In case you missed it in the previous paragraph, We are taking a vacation! Almost didn’t but Hubby really liked the idea of South Dakota. We are staying at a lodge there and will visit Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Deadwood, and lots of other historic/fun places. Oh, I will also be visiting  Wool N Stuffin Hill City, SD. They mainly sell items made from wool but do have some Brown Sheep yarn and some Homespun yarn from Bemidji. I’m going to have to figure out which pattern I want to make so I’ll know how much yarn to get. Otherwise, I’ll just buy one skein and I have so many “just one skeins” sitting around that I don’t need anymore! I’ll have lots of details about the trip when I get back.

So that’s just a quick run down of grandbaby, knitting, and vacation. Let’s hope I don’t just up and dissapear again!

About Karen @ Crafty Commons

I'm a K-5 librarian living in Kansas. I am married, have one daughter, a son-in-law, and 2 wonderful granddaughters. I am addicted to knitting! If I could knit all day, I would be in heaven.
This entry was posted in Grandbaby, Knitting, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.